CivMin welcomes three new faculty

The Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering welcomes three new faculty as of July 1, 2021. All three join as assistant professors.

Besides impressive academic credentials, among the trio there’s a myriad of surprising life skills and experiences as an army drill sergeant, dancing with Bill Nye the Science Guy, playing concerts as a flutist and strumming electric guitars.

“We wholeheartedly welcome our newest faculty members to the Department,” says Chair Brent Sleep offering his greetings. “Students will benefit from the fascinating range of expertise and experience they bring.  Join us in offering our newest professors a warm welcome to CivMin.”

Meet our newest faculty members and learn a bit more about each via their Q&A.

Daeho Kim

Seungjae Lee 

Sarah Haines