CivMin professor and student receive EAN Awards

CivMin Chair Prof. Brent Sleep (L) with Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou and third-year student Amy Bagrin at the EAN Awards on Thursday, November 3, 2022. (Photo by Phill Snel / CivMin)

CivMin’s Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou (CivE PhD 0T8) and undergraduate student Amy Bagrin (CivE Year 3) were recognized by the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) at their annual EAN Awards event held Thursday, November 3 at Hart House.

Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou at the EAN Awards Thursday, November 3, 2022. (photo by Phill Snel / CivMin)

Prof. Hatzopoulou was recognized with the 2T5 Mid-Career Achievement Award, with Bagrin receiving the EAN Scholarship.

Hatzopoulou’s award recognizes a graduate (11-25 years from undergraduate graduation) who has earned respect within the profession as well as the broader Canadian community. She completed her PhD at U of T in 2008 in Transportation Engineering in Civil Engineering, and has been a professor in the Department since 2015 having first started at McGill in 2010.

Currently, Hatzopoulou leads the Transportation and Air Quality (TRAQ) research group studying the interactions between transportation, air quality, climate, and health. She published over 140 publications on these topics. She is also the Director of Positive Zero Transport Futures, a living lab ecosystem for testing transport decarbonization innovations with positive societal outcomes. She received funding from provincial, federal, and international agencies to conduct integrative research in transportation engineering and public health. Prof. Hatzopoulou held a Tier2 Canada Research Chair in Transportation and Air Quality (2013-2021) and a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Discovery Accelerator Supplement (2016-2019). She is on the Canadian team that received the 2021 NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering. She serves on the Transportation Research Board standing committee on Air Quality and Greenhouse Gas Mitigation as the committee research coordinator. She is also an associate editor of the journal Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment.

Amy Bagrin (CivE Year 3) is flanked EAN President Safdar Mahmood (ElecE 0T3) and Engineering Dean Prof. Christopher Yip (ChemE 8T8, R) at the EAN Awards Thursday, November 3, 2022. (photo by Phill Snel/CivMin)

Bagrin’s award is presented to a part-time or full-time student in good standing, proceeding to second, third or fourth year in any program in the Faculty. Recipients are selected based on the demonstration of a passion for engineering-related design, creativity and innovation as exhibited by involvement in the Skule™ community through design-related extra-curricular activities, co-curricular involvement and/or entrepreneurial pursuits.

She is a third-year Civil Engineering student, currently pursuing a minor in Engineering Business. During her time at U of T, she has grown as a leader and gained a love for the Skule™ community at large. She aims to deliver equitable and accessible F!rosh Week programming to the incoming first-year engineering students through her work for the finance portfolio of the Orientation Committee, starting as a subcommittee chair and moving on to be the Vice-Chair Finance. She also organizes events and initiatives for her peers through her work for the Civil Engineering Club (aka Civ Club). As the former Social Director and acting Vice Chair, she engages and strengthens the Civil Engineering student body, representing their interests to the department and faculty. In 2022, Amy served as a captain on the U of T Troitsky design team, leading her team to victory at the national Troitsky Bridge Building Competition. Upon graduating, Amy hopes to continue her work in drinking water treatment through the water resources management stream or further explore business in the construction management industry.