CivMin students honoured with leadership awards

L to R: Charu Tyagi, Julia DeMarchi , CivMin Chair Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou and Bo Zhao. (Photo by Phill Snel)

CivMin students were among the many worthy recipients who received recognition at the U of T Engineering Student Leadership Reception on Friday, April 5.

The University of Toronto Student Leadership Awards (UTSLA) recipients from CivMin include Charu Tyagi (Year 4 CivE) and Bo Zhao (Year 4 CivE), who is also recognized for his role as outgoing VP of finance for EngSoc.

UTSLAs recognize students in their final year of study, with a minimum cumulative GPA (CGPA) of 2.70. Students may be nominated by staff, faculty or alumni. All nominees must have at least one year of significant volunteer leadership and high-impact service in the year immediately prior to the current nomination period.

Julia DeMarchi (Year 4 CivE) is recognized with the L.E. Jones Award of Distinction for arts in Engineering. The award is presented to a graduating student in the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering who made a significant contribution in the arts, either within Skule™ or externally, during their time at U of T.

The Award was established to acknowledge the contributions of L.E. (Ted) Jones, Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering, over his long and distinguished career, to students, alumni and the Faculty, as well as his continuing support and dedication to the Engineering Society and the Engineering Alumni Association of the University of Toronto. The Award endorses Ted’s great appreciation of the arts and his love of music in particular.

A full list of student award recipients is posted by Engineering News