Welcome to CivMin’s new Chair: Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou

Dean Chris Yip announces Prof. Marianne Hatzopoulou (CivE PhD 0T8) as new CivMin Chair

Professor Marianne Hatzopoulou (Photo: Roberta Baker)


To: Members of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

From: Christopher Yip, Dean

Date: June 28, 2023

Re: Appointment of Chair, Civil and Mineral Engineering

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Marianne Hatzopoulou (CivE PhD 0T8) as Chair of the Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering (CivMin) for a five-year term beginning on July 1, 2023, and ending June 30, 2028.

Professor Hatzopoulou joined CivMin in 2015 as an Associate Professor and was promoted to full Professor in 2020. In 2021, she was on a team which received the NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering, and in 2022 as an alumna (CivE PhD 0T8), she received the U of T Engineering Alumni Network 2T5 Mid-Career Achievement Award. Marianne is a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Transport Decarbonization and Air Quality, and has authored more than 150 refereed journal papers in the area of transportation, air quality and greenhouse gas emissions. She is also an associate editor of the journal Transportation Research Part D: Transport and the Environment.

Please join me in congratulating Marianne on her appointment and wishing her a rewarding journey for her term.

I extend my deep appreciation to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:
Kelly Lyons, Professor and Acting Vice Dean Research and Program Innovation, SGS
Khandker Nurul Habib, Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Robert Andrews, Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
John Harrison, Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Kamran Esmaeili, Associate Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Susan Andrews, Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Daniel Posen, Assistant Professor, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Ramin Farnood, Professor and Chair, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
Sean Thomas, Professor and Associate Dean Research, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design
Aly Abdelaziz, Graduate Student, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Alec Gilvesy, Undergraduate Student, Civil & Mineral Engineering
Michelle Deeton, Director Finance & Administration, Civil & Mineral Engineering

I also would like to take this opportunity to extend gratitude on behalf of the Faculty to Professor Brent Sleep, who served as the Chair of CivMin since July 1, 2013. Under Brent’s leadership, the department’s name changed to reflect the synergies between civil and mineral engineering education and research, graduate enrolment and research funding increased, unique partnerships flourished and several ambitious infrastructure projects were completed. Notably, during Brent’s second term as Chair, the site of U of T’s Camp at Gull Lake was renovated extensively, building on a legacy that is more than 100 years old. The impact of Brent’s leadership will be felt by the entire U of T Engineering community for years to come.