Alumni News

The CivMin Class of 1T5 gathers for a group photo at their reunion event held Friday, February 3, 2023 at the Prenup Pub in Toronto. (Photo by Phill Snel, CivMin/U of T)

Friends in school; friends in fundraising for a new scholarship

Olivia - sq

Alumna profile: Olivia Mogielnicki (MinE 1T8 + PEY)

Marianne Hatzopoulou image copy

CivMin professors awarded DSI funding for collaborative projects

TORONTO, DECEMBER 13, 2022  — CELEBRATION OF GRADUATION CLASS OF 2020 & 2021 — An image from the Celebration of Graduation for the Class of 2020 & Class of 2021 at the University of Toronto on Tuesday, December 13, 2022. In-person Convocation was missed for 2020 and 2021, with a virtual ceremony held for each, allowing for in-person celebration to make up for the delay. The Department of Civil & Mineral Engineering (CivMin) held a reception afterwards for their alumni.
(Photo by Phill Snel, Dept of Civil & Mineral Engineering / University of Toronto)

CivMin grads return for in-person celebration of graduation


CivMin alumnus wins the first place at BFN Top Venture Award


CivMin professor and student receive EAN Awards

Left: Professor Nicole Weckman (CGEN, ChemE) has been appointed the inaugural Paul Cadario Chair in Global Engineering. Right: Alumnus, adjunct civil engineering professor and Distinguished Fellow in Global Innovation Paul Cadario (CivE 7T3, Hon LLD 1T3) provided a gift of $1.5 million to create the new research chair.

Paul Cadario Chair in Global Engineering will advance solutions for communities around the world

Ivan Damnjanovic 2

Bridging data science with traditional engineering

Alex Leonard picture full res

Engineering Alum helping Ontario grow sustainably

The top of the MSG Sphere is lifted into place in Las Vegas. The Madison Square Garden Entertainment Corp. project, including collaboration with Cast Connex, is the world's largest sphere. (Courtesy Cast Connex)

Alumni-founded Cast Connex collaborates to build world’s largest sphere

Picture of John Kabanda.

Can hemp and mushrooms make the construction industry greener? 

LD Smith photo 02-4a

Alumnus Lawrence Smith on mining, mentorship and mastering your craft